2024 Innovate4Cities Conference Advisory Committee and Organizers

Many talented individuals are actively contributing to making the 2024 Innovate4Cities Conference (I4C24) a key moment on the calendar for sustainable urban development. This includes the Conference Advisory Committee, comprising influential voices from academia, business, and civil society.

I4C24 Conference Advisory Committee

The Conference Advisory Committee is at the heart of ensuring the 2024 Innovate4Cities Conference (I4C24) becomes a catalyst for city climate action worldwide. Composed of leaders across academia, business, and civil society, the committee is united by the goal of facilitating a space that accelerates city climate action through equitable cross-sector co-production of knowledge and the empowerment of cities and local governments to act on climate, sustainability, and biodiversity. Through being involved in every aspect of the planning of this conference, from reviewing session abstracts to connecting organizations and communities, the following people are ensuring I4C24 drives research, knowledge, and innovation to accelerate city climate action.

Aaron Addison

Aaron Addison,
Executive Director,
World Geospatial Industry
Council (WGIC) Secretariat

Adam Elman

Adam Elman,
Head of Sustainability,
Google Europe

Adriana Campelo

Adriana Campelo,
Assistant Secretary-General and
Deputy Executive Director,

I4C Website | Speaker Images (250px x 250px)  - 4

Aklilu Fikresilassie,
Director, Thriving Resilient Cities, WRI Africa

Alain Bourque

Alain Bourque,
Executive Director, Ouranos


Aromar Revi,
Director, Indian Institute for Human Settlements


Bruce Stiftel,
Professor Emeritus, School of City & Regional Planning, Georgia Tech, P4CA / UCCRN

David Dodman

David Dodman,
Director, International Institute for Environment and Development

Debra Roberts

Debra Roberts,
Professor at the University of KwaZulu-Natal and University of Twente

Diana Urge-Vorsatz

Diana Urge-Vorsatz,
Vice-Chair, IPCC and Professor, Department of Environmental Sciences and Policy, Central European University

Elena Crete

Elena Crete,
Head of the Climate & Energy Program, UNSDSN

Elsa Lefevre

Elsa Lefevre,
UrbanShift Global Advocacy Lead, UNEP


Giorgia Rambelli,
Director, Urban Transitions Mission

Giulia Melica - updated

Giulia Melica,
Project leader, Scientific support to the Global Covenant of Mayors, European Commission, Joint Research Centre

Giles - crop

Giles Sioen,
Co-Lead, Research & Innovation, Future Earth, Research Associate, National Institute for Environmental Studies

I4C Website Speaker Images (1)

Greg Munro,
Director, Cities Alliance


Harriet Bulkeley,
Senior Fellow in the Global Policy Institute, Prof. Dept. of Geography, Deputy Executive Dean, Research in the Faculty of Social Sciences and Health, Durham University

Helen Watts

Helen Watts,
Executive Director, Student Energy

Helinah Cardoso

Helinah Cardoso,
Director Global Covenant of Mayors for Climate and Energy (GCoM) in the Americas,
Support to GCoM in the Americas

Indy Johar

Indy Johar,
Co-founder Project 00 & Dark Matter Labs

Stuart&Alex-203 - Version 2

Jayne Engle,
PHD, Adjunct Professor, McGill University School of Urban Planning

Joanna Masic

Joanna Masic,
Lead Urban Specialist and Global Lead for Cities and Climate Change
World Bank

Jorn Verbeeck

Jorn Verbeeck,
Net Zero Urban Program & Decarbonization Innovation Exchange Lead, Global Decarbonization Center, KPMG

Kirsten dunlop

Kirsten Dunlop,
CEO, Climate-KIC

Luis Neves

Luis Neves,
CEO, Global Enabling Sustainability Initiative,

Massamba Thioye

Massamba Thioye,
Project Executive, UNFCCC Global Innovation Hub

Nicola Tollin

Nicola Tollin,
Professor in Urban Resilience,
University of Southern Denmark,
Chairholder and coordinator of the UNESCO Chair on Urban Resilience

Paula Kirk

Paula Kirk,
Director, Global Climate and Sustainability Leader, Arup

Pourya Salehi

Pourya Salehi,
Head, Urban Research, Innovation, and Development Team,
ICLEI World Secretariat and Co-Chair, GCoM Research and Innovation Technical Working Group

Pooja Mahapatra

Pooja Mahapatra,
Global Lead – Climate & Nature, Fugro


Savina Carluccio,
Executive Director,
International Coalition for Sustainable Infrastructure (ICSI)

Seth Schultz

Seth Schultz,
CEO, Resilience Rising

Sheela Patel

Sheela Patel,
Director of the Society for Promotion of Area Resource Centres, Society for Promotion of Area Resource Centres

Shin Koseki

Shin Koseki,
UNESCO Chair in Urban Landscape & Assistant Professor, Faculty of Environmental Design School of Urban Planning and Landscape Architecture, Université de Montréal

Siir Kilkis

Şiir Kılkış
Vice-Chair, Working Group III, IPCC

I4C Website Speaker Images (250px x 250px) (2)

Susannah Smetana Kagan,
Science to Policy Director, Urban Climate Change Research Network (UCCRN)

Ursula Eicker

Ursula Eicker,
Canada Excellence Research Chair (CERC) in Smart, Sustainable and Resilient Cities and Communities,
Concordia University Montréal

William Solecki

William Solecki,
Professor of Geography, Hunter College; Director Institute for Sustainable Cities,
City University of New York (CUNY); Co-Director, Urban Climate Change Research Network (UCCRN)

Winston Chow

Winston Chow,
Co-Chair, Working Group II, IPCC and Associate Professor of Urban Climate and Lee Kong Chian Research Fellow at the College of Integrative Studies, Singapore Management University

Xuemei Bai

Xuemei Bai,
Distinguished Professor, ANU Fenner School of Environment and Society,
ANU College of Science, Fenner School of Environment and Society

Co-Chairs of the I4C24 Conference Advisory Committee


Benjamin Jance IV,
Head of Research and Innovation,
Global Covenant of Mayors

Lea Ranalder

Lea Ranalder,
Associate Programme Management Officer,
UN-Habitat (United Nations Human Settlements Programme)

Page Navigation